Product Placement…

I have been testing this product since receiving it as a gift on Valentine’s Day. The Gillette Fusion Power 5-blade razor.
First impressions, for a man, is YEE-HA! when you see it. Looks like a space battle-cruiser. Impressive. Gnarly. Substantial. Slap in the battery, turn it on, and your wife’s ears will prick up from across the room.
The let-down comes during the actual shave. Long story short, with caveates, is that the three-blade power razor gives a better shave. BUT! The single blade ‘trimmer’ feature on the back is to die for. I wish I could buy a powered single blade razor. It is perfect for around moustache and sideburns, and for clean-up of those areas on your face that are always left with stubble unless you just grind and grind into it, i.e., the sides of my throat under my chin.
With the three blade razor, I can shave dry if I want, though it decreases blade life. With the five blades, I am really glad that the wife bought the shaving cream that is supposedly designed for the Gillette Fusion. You place those buzzing blades onto your stubble, and you KNOW you are getting a shave. It growls like a lawnmower in tall grass. You must rinse more often, because it fills with whiskers quickly.
It pulls at them, too. I never yet have felt pain with the 3-blader, yet the 5-blader hurts me occasionally. Makes me bleed sometimes, and the 3-blader never has.
All that having been said, in fifteen years of marriage, the wife has never remarked on my shave, until now. She says she notices the difference, and likes it. A lot. The razor stays.
I used to be a shower shaver, and I have a mirror in there. Now, I shave and trim (gosh, I love that single blade trimmer!) at the sink, and keep the 3-blader in the shower to bat clean-up on any spots I missed.
All in all, I think it was worth the money, so far. That will depend on how long the blades last. They are expensive for both powered razors, but I use a 3-blader for up to two months, and I shave every day except Sunday.
Honestly, though, if I knew then what I know now, I would buy a powered single blade razor (if they made such a thing, which I doubt) and stick with the 3-blader.
I will stick with powered razors until they quit making batteries. They just don’t make you bleed. All my shaving life, before power, the sink looked like I’d sacrificed a chicken in it when I was done. Now, the worst I get, is maybe one oozing pore, where a hair got pulled out.
In summation: The Gillette Fusion has the single edge ‘trimmer. It works perfectly, especially up under the nose. You can sculpt facial hair, and I would own this even if I had a beard. It gives a lovely razor cut.
It has a LOW BATTERY INDICATOR LIGHT! Is that the coolest, or what?! It also has an automatic shut-off feature (after six minutes) in case is gets turned on by accident. MORE COOLNESS!
It looks like a friggin Ferrari, and will flat cut the piss out of your whiskers.
Two thumbs and a wagging weiner up!

2 Responses to Product Placement…

  1. Spacebunny says:

    I bought Vox the three-blade you are so fond of after you last product endorsement and you’re right, a LOT less bleeding and a much closer shave. Those blades are pricey though! Good thing it’s worth it ;)

  2. Bane says:

    This new razor is most bad-ass.

Leave a Reply

