Vote With Your Feet…

Well, right now, I’ve got hardly any voters at all. My traffic has died, but I know who my friends are!

So, here’s your chance. I have three blogs, as of this week, all parallel universe versions of BaneRants. Out of courtesy, I have been posting the brain-cramps that fall into my head on all three sites, for the most part.

I like WordPress, I really do. It has nice aspects. I am still not satisfied with it, and it bewilders me as yet, but I like it.

I am terribly fond of my old blogger blog. Though it vexes me, as it is a poor, broken thing. My archives went to shit, and I blame WordPress, for shitty transfer code. Yet, it is broken, and has been for some time. Still, it has my ads, and my tip jars, and the bloggy things that make me smile. WordPress’s sitemeter app is Fucked Up Beyond All Recognition, and even if I could figure out some way to display it (guess what: I can’t) I wouldn’t, because it is illogical and stupid, and doesn’t synch with any time in any known universe.

My new Blogger blog is shiny. And new. And everything works. I would have done it before I went to WordPress if I had been thinking clearly, which, obviously, I was not. It looks more Baneish than the WordPress blog, though it is austere, and looks kinda high school.

One of my dear, dear friends and patrons made me a .jpg of my old blog flames that appears to be perfect in every way, yet I lack the skill to insert it.

So…I think I have answered my own question.

Fuck you, I do what I want. I will continue to take the extra minute and a half to post at all three, and count up the comments on all three in a few weeks, and make my decision then.

Back to square one…

 

15 Responses to Vote With Your Feet…

  1. Will says:

    I’m not putting up a new link until the decision is final. I’ll make my final decision then too. I hate fucking with my template code just as much as you do.

  2. TC says:

    I guess I will have to read all three daily until your decision as to which you will use. I don’t post much but I read your blog(s) daily.

  3. Charlene says:

    I will follow you to hell and back or to WordPress, or whatever. Just don’t forget to leave a trail of breadcrumbs.

  4. Spacebunny says:

    I”m not making your decisions for you. Just pick one already. I don’t like either of the new ones particularly,but that’s because I a)prefer the pop-up comments of haloscan eventhough I hate haloscan (I am a girl so this makes perfect sense ) and b) I am a creature of habit.

  5. LL says:

    First of all, your code in banedad can be fixed. Especially your header template. Because the stupid thing is in a kajillion different pieces, the solution is just to move the damn things back together with some judicious rearranging. Or you could maybe hit up Irish Diablo, who did mine and get a whole new kick ass look. OR, and here’s an idea, copy that frikkin’ template from stem to stern and email that fucker to me. I’ll fiddle with it and see if I can repair some of the damage.

    I personally prefer the banedad one. It is the one where I found you and it soothes me to see that particular page, warts and all. These other two are impersonal, cold, annoying, and NOT bane. The words are the same, but the feel is not. Would you prefer to have an astounding supper suffused with flavors and aromas on a table set for that with flowers and soft light and ATMOSPHERE, or would you like to wolf it down at the kitchen counter? That’s the way I feel about these 2 others.

  6. Morrigan says:

    I still read your blogs everyday, it would be nice if they were all in the same place. Just my $.02.

  7. Orlok says:

    this one is faster than yer old . but i agree with LL . this one has NO soul. fix the old one or use bane2. (only use bane2 if you can get the flames on it)

  8. Bill says:

    Ditch WordPress pronto!! The dang thing does not allow easy copy/paste of text from comments or your pearls of woozdum which is a real pain.

  9. Elisson says:

    For right now, I’m focusing my energies on this version of BaneRants. Since you kindly provide links to the other two, I can shuttle back and forth as I see fit.

    When you get around to making a decision, I’ll just update my Bloglines subscription. So much easier than fucking around with my template. It takes all of two seconds to do.

    I like the WordPress site. Easy to read, clean (if a tad dull) design. But I’m sure you can Bane-ify it. Maybe some pictures of eviscerated Muzzies…

  10. afirefly says:

    I’m with LL. Seems you’ll have to put some work into any of them. Might as well be the one you are most comfortable with.

  11. Margi says:

    Oh geeze. WordPress ain’t all that difficult. I’ve worked with several different editions of blog software and if I can be of any assistance, just holla.

    But I have to agree with “afirefly” – your blog. Just give me a heads’ up so I can change my blogroll link.

  12. Jane says:

    All I can say is I don’t miss that BRIGHT RED comment box… and you’re makin’ me dizzy.

  13. I tried to make a new blog on wordpress last night. I found it very difficult to use compared to Blogger and deleted this morning.
    I don’t like the way word press scrolls either…way too slow.

  14. Bane says:

    It has some things I really really like, built in. I love the dashboard. It also has some stupid quirks I find annoying. Jury’s still out.

Leave a comment